Planning · councils and An Coimisiún Pleanála
Data-centre planning in Ireland: what gets permission
We track 156 planning applications mentioning a data centre: 129 granted, 12 refused and 11 pending (council planning registers, Oct 2026). Since the CRU's November 2021 direction, new-build applications fell from 69 to 16, and the share appealed rose from 13% to 69% (small sample).
Updated 10 October 2026 · data build 2026-10-10 · how we know · corrections
What happens to an application
What happens to a data-centre planning application
Councils grant most data-centre applications, but 18 of 85 went to appeal (red bands), and of the 70 permissions only 34 have a certified finished building so far; 10 lapsed unbuilt.
The diagram follows every new-build data-centre planning application on Irish council registers (85 applications, lifecycle build of 10 Oct 2026) from the council's decision to the final outcome and, for permissions, to what was built. Red bands are applications that went to An Coimisiún Pleanála; 4 appeals reversed the council's decision. A completion certificate proves a building was finished, not that its data halls are switched on. Coverage is a floor: applications whose description never says "data centre" are not included.
Sources: Council planning registers via planningregister, 10 Oct 2026 · An Coimisiún Pleanála case records · BCMS commencement notices and completion certificates · StackPath lifecycle build, 10 Oct 2026
Data-centre planning applications and appeals, by year lodged
Of new data-centre applications lodged before the CRU's November 2021 grid direction, 13% were appealed (69 applications). Of those lodged since, 69% have been, out of only 16.
Each bar counts new-build data-centre applications lodged with Irish councils in a year; the red part went to An Coimisiún Pleanála on appeal. The percentages split applications by lodgement date at the CRU's direction of 23 November 2021 on data-centre grid connections; the shaded bars are the calendar years after it (2021 itself is mostly before). Since then applications have dropped and appeals, by objectors or by refused applicants, have become the norm; the post-2021 sample is small. 2026 is a part year. Counts only include applications whose description says "data centre", so they are a floor.
Sources: Council planning registers via planningregister, 10 Oct 2026 · An Coimisiún Pleanála case records · StackPath lifecycle build, 10 Oct 2026
How long planning takes, before and after 2021
The life of a data-centre project, from planning file to finished building
Planning is quick; building is slow. A council decides in about 2.0 months, an appeal adds 15.2, and the first building is certified complete a median 36.9 months after the application was lodged.
Each bar is the median time for one stage, measured on Irish planning files that mention a data centre (79 council decisions, 16 decided appeals, 35 projects that reached a completion certificate). Medians of different groups do not add up exactly, so the end-to-end line is measured separately; its whisker shows the middle half of projects. 71% of new-build permissions at least two years old had started (39 of 55); the rest are unbuilt or lapsed. Grid offers, EPA licences and energisation dates are not published per project, so they are shown without durations.
Sources: Council planning registers via planningregister, 10 Oct 2026 · An Coimisiún Pleanála case records · Building Control Management System commencement notices and completion certificates · StackPath lifecycle build, 10 Oct 2026
How long each step takes (median months)
Once granted, projects start in about 6 months and finish about 18 months later. The delay has moved into planning and appeals.
Before and after the CRU direction (Nov 2021)
| Before | After | |
|---|---|---|
| New-build applications | 69 | 16 |
| Median lodged → council decision | 2 mo | 4.5 mo |
| Further information requested | 43% | 69% |
| Appealed | 13% | 69% |
| Refused | 3% | 25% |
| Median appeal length | 10.5 mo | 23.5 mo |
New-build applications lodged before and after 23 Nov 2021. The "after" group is small and still filling in: read the direction, not the decimals.
Permitted but not built
| Site | Operator | Council | m² | Status | Expiry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Equinix Profile Park (DB8) SD21A/0186 | Equinix | SDCC | 9,601 | unstarted, expires within 12 months | 2027-05-05 |
| Hoffmann Park, Little Island 21/5574 | — | CORKCO | — | unstarted, expires within 12 months | 2027-07-08 |
| Parslickstown, Mulhuddart FW21A/0046 | — | FINGAL | — | unstarted, permission live | 2027-12-05 |
| Wallingstown, Little Island 17/6980 | — | CORKCO | — | unstarted, permission live | 2028-02-26 |
| Avoca River Park, Arklow 2372 | Echelon (Crag Digital Avoca) | WICKLOW | 48,618 | unstarted, permission live | 2028-07-24 |
| Tulla Road, Ennis 21757 | — | CLARE | 118,740 | unstarted, permission live | 2029-04-14 |
| EdgeConneX Ballymakaily SD22A/0333 | EdgeConneX | SDCC | 15,274 | unstarted, permission live | 2030-07-31 |
| Avoca River Park, Arklow 2560594 | Echelon (Crag Digital Avoca) | WICKLOW | 45,511 | unstarted, permission live | 2031-06-01 |
| Pure DC Orion Park FW26A/0021E | Pure DC | FINGAL | — | unstarted, permission live | 2031-07-24 |
| Google Grange Castle SD24A/0164W | SDCC | 38,115 | unstarted, permission live | 2036-09-23 | |
| Crag Avenue, Clondalkin SD13A/0271 | eir | SDCC | 59,239 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2019-07-21 |
| Ovens IDA estate 14/6757 | — | CORKCO | — | lapsed without commencement notice | 2020-02-23 |
| Staffordstown, Turvey F15A/0266 | McHale Partnership | FINGAL | 7,032 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2020-12-16 |
| Kevlin, Lifford 1850236 | — | DONEGAL | — | lapsed without commencement notice | 2023-02-24 |
| Crag Avenue, Clondalkin SD18A/0068 | Echelon (Crag Digital) | SDCC | 56,560 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2024-05-13 |
| Avoca River Park, Arklow 18940 | Echelon (Crag Digital Avoca) | WICKLOW | — | lapsed without commencement notice | 2024-07-16 |
| Mountkennedy, Newtownmountkennedy 10/2123 (via 24306) | — | WICKLOW | 111,228 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2024-07-30 |
| Damastown, Mulhuddart FW19A/0232 | — | FINGAL | 48,303 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2025-10-30 |
| Avoca River Park, Arklow 201285 | Echelon (Crag Digital Avoca) | WICKLOW | 47,580 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2026-03-21 |
| Kish Business Park, Arklow 201088 | — | WICKLOW | 66,630 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2026-06-09 |
| Wallingstown, Little Island 16/5011 | — | CORKCO | — | lapsed without commencement notice | 2026-07-28 |
| Derrydonnell, Athenry Athenry original permission (via 211047) | Apple | GALWAYCO | 30,138 | lapsed without commencement notice | 2026-08-04 |
Highlighted: permission still live but no construction started. Built = a Building Control completion certificate, not switch-on. Coverage is a floor: some data centres are described as "ICT facilities".
PlanSight planning register × Building Control (BCMS) commencement notices and completion certificates · as of 2026-10-10
What the planning inspectors found
Why projects were refused
663.6 MW of demand stated across the reports. 13 of 22 reports give no demand figure.
What on-site generation looks like
EirGrid's flexible connection offers require generation that can run for up to ~500 hours a year (EdgeConneX, 317802).
Art Data Centres, Ennis: ~200 MW, of which ~120 MW from 18 on-site gas engines and ~80 MW from the grid (314474).
Highlighted: the Board went against its inspector. MW figures aren't like for like (phase vs campus); each record notes its basis. Read by Claude from the reports; every quote checked against its page.
An Coimisiún Pleanála inspector reports and orders · as of 2026-10-03
Judicial reviews
We checked all 134 High Court planning cases in PlanSight's court-list scrape (the Planning & Environment list of 2026-07-06 plus 7 judgments delivered Jul–Aug 2026) against the 156 data-centre applications and their 44 appeals, by case number, planning ref and party name. None matched a data-centre application. The scrape is a July 2026 snapshot, not a history, so earlier cases are missing.
| Scheme | Appeal decided | High Court | Months | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Art Data Centres, Ennis (Co Clare), 200 MW campus CLARE 21757 · ACP 314474 | 2024-04-05 (grant) | High Court cleared the scheme (reported week of 13 Mar 2026) | 23.2 | RTÉ |
| 2026/335/JR Friends of the Irish Environment and others v CRU: the challenge to CRU/2025/236, the large-energy-user (data-centre) connection policy. A policy decision, not a planning application. | — | For Mention, listed 2026-07-06 | — | PlanSight jr_case |
Months = appeal decision to High Court ruling; filing dates aren't in the sources read. A residents' group v An Coimisiún Pleanála listing names neither the scheme nor the developer, so a party-name match can miss cases.
Most recent applications
| Received | Applicant | What | Decision | Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-05-27 | Microsoft | Extension of permission | Grant Extension of Duration of Permission | SD20A/0283/EP |
| 2026-04-27 | Crag Digital | Extension of permission | Grant Extension of Duration of Permission | SD20A/0309/EP |
| 2026-04-15 | Data & Power Hub Services Limited | Extension of permission | Grant Extension of Duration of Permission | SD20A/0324/EP |
| 2026-04-02 | CyrusOne | Extension of permission | Grant Extension of Duration of Permission | SD20A/0295/EP |
| 2026-03-12 | Echelon | Change to existing | Grant Permission for Retention | SD25A/0301W |
| 2026-01-27 | Echelon | Change to existing | Grant Permission & Grant Retention | SD25A/0257W |
| 2026-01-20 | South Dublin Routing 4 No.2 Limited | New data centre | GRANT PERMISSION | FW26A/0021E |
| 2026-01-13 | Microsoft | Exemption query | Declared Exempt | ED26/0001 |
| 2025-10-09 | Not stated | Change to existing | CONDITIONAL | 2560806 |
| 2025-08-01 | Not stated | Change to existing | CONDITIONAL | 2560594 |
| 2025-07-09 | Microsoft | Exemption query | Declared Exempt | ED25/0053 |
| 2025-07-08 | Not stated | New data centre | CONDITIONAL | 2560344 |
| 2025-02-14 | Microsoft | New data centre | Grant Permission | SD25A/0035W |
| 2025-01-17 | Not stated | Extension of permission | Unconditional Permission | 25/4033 |
| 2024-12-19 | Not stated | Change to existing | CONDITIONAL | 24226 |
Council planning registers via planningregister.ie. All 156 applications are on the data-centres page and in the open data.